Snickerdoodle Muffins

April 17, 2011 at 9:57 pm (cooking) (, , , , , , , )

Source: http://www.culinaryconcoctionsbypeabody.com/2007/03/16/cookie-conversion/

Saw someone mention this recipe, and it sounded amazingly delicious, so I googled for a recipe. I found this one about three times, so I figured it MUST be good!

And so began my first attempt at making muffins from scratch.

Ingredients:
2 sticks unsalted butter (I used salted, didn’t notice a difference.)
1c sugar
2tsp vanilla
2 eggs
3/4 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp cream of tarter
3/4 tsp nutmeg
1 and 1/4c sour cream
2 and 1/4c all-purpose flour

Also – you will need to mix 1/2c sugar and 1 tbs cinnamon together for rolling the dough in.

Directions:
Cream together the butter and sugar. Next, add in the vanilla, and one egg at a time, making sure it’s all in there properly.

You’re supposed to mix the dry ingredients together first – I’m lazy and using a mixer, I didn’t.

I dumped in the soda, powder, and nutmeg, and then added 1c flour, 1/2c sour cream. I worked that in, then added 1c flour and 1/2c sour cream. After that was in, I added the last 1/4c of both flour and sour cream.

Next, I sprayed my ice cream scoop with Pam, and scooped out muffins, one at a time, and rolled each in brown sugar before depositing in the little cups. (The recipe source says directly in the pan but my pan is old. Trust me. Cups are good.)

My mix was blobby, just so ya know.

Then, you bake them for 20-22 minutes at 350F. My oven must be wonky, because I wound up baking for closer to 30 min. πŸ™‚

Cool for a few minutes, and enjoy!

Picture time! πŸ˜€

From above, they look amazingly like cookies!!!

But they’re not πŸ˜€

I will say – mine pulled up at the bottom all funny. And the tops r crunchy on the outside, and soft inside. REALLY delicious!! Definitely a keeper! β™₯

Leave a Reply

