Homemade Meatballs and Marinara

March 20, 2011 at 3:08 pm (cooking)

You know, I’ve never made meatballs before.

Newp. Never.

Last night, I didn’t have the materials to make frito chili casserole, and I didn’t want to make spaghetti sauce…so somehow that ended up with me making meatballs, marinara sauce, and…spaghetti. lol

So… sauce first, even though I made the meatballs and put them in the hot oven PRIOR to starting the sauce.

Marinara Sauce:
1 can tomato sauce
1 can petite diced tomatoes (which I ran thru my food processor)
1/4 large onion (also thru the food processor)
3 large cloves of garlic (in the food processor)
5 baby carrots (in the food processor lol)
Oregano
Freshly ground black pepper
Kosher salt
Sage
Ground ginger
Paprika
Garlic & Herb Mrs. Dash
Garlic Salt
Garlic Powder
Minced Onion
Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Beef Stock
Cranberry-Pomegranate juice

Quite the list, right? Well, when it comes to marinara, I don’t like it chunky. I like it smoother than that…

First, I put the onion, garlic, and carrots in my food processor, and pretty much turned it into a paste.

I emptied out my processor into a nice hot pan with a little olive oil in it, sprinkled it with oregano, sage, mrs. dash, and let it start to cook.

While it cooked, I put the diced tomatoes in the processor, pulsing it in between stirring the veggies.

To the veggies, I added a splash of beef stock, and a splash of juice.

Once they had cooked down, I added the petite diced tomatoes, a nice healthy pinch of kosher salt, and a few grinds of pepper.

And once THAT was happy, I added the can of tomato sauce. I let it cook a little, then tasted it, and wound up adding some ginger (about 4 taps), some paprika (about 7 taps), more oregano, mrs dash, and garlic powder, along with a few shakes of parsley.

Then I set it to simmer on low, and covered it.

Now… MEATBALLS!!!!! 😀 I was very pleased with how they came out! ^__^.

Meatballs:
1lb lean ground beef (I think this was 90/10, and over a pound. I got it prepackaged at the grocery store, so closer to like 1.4lbs.)
1/2c Italian bread crumbs
1 egg
1 tbs granulated (Kraft lol) Parmesan cheese
1/2c grated dutch gouda (I got it at trader joe’s – white, red rind.)
1 tbs Garlic powder
7 taps of ground ginger
10 grinds black pepper
2 hefty pinches of Kosher salt (hey, I have big fingers.)
2 tbs Oregano
2 tbs Garlic & Herb Mrs. Dash
3 tbs Minced Onion

(For future doings, I would add more garlic, some paprika, more oregano, and maybe a little more pepper. They were tasty alone, but delicious in the sauce! More flavor!!!)

So, pretty much, I preheated the oven to 350F, and got out the large casserole dish with low sides, as I figured they might be juicy.

After that, in a large mixing bowl, I dumped in the meat, egg, breadcrumbs, and everything else, and proceeded to mix it all up with one hand until I was satisfied with the way it looked. (Delicious.)

Then I began rolling the mixture into little 1-inch balls and placing them in the dish.

Once the dish was full, I tried to space them out, and put them in the oven.

I figured half an hour, it wound up being about 24minutes. :)

So I wiped the meatballs off on a papertowel (I don’t like the little gray blobbies that stick to them, ew), and spooned them over noodles and sauce!

Yummy!

Leave a Reply

