Leftovers Into Chinese

February 8, 2011 at 10:04 pm (cooking) (, , , , , , , , , , , )

Well, we had a bunch of broccoli left over from pork roast night…and when we went out to Outback,  my sister didn’t eat half of her steak, so we took it home…and she forgot it!!

I don’t know about you, but I dislike reheated steak. Actually, reheated is fine. I just don’t like rare meat!

Well then. Check the cupboard, check the fridge, check the freezer.  What can I do with 3 ounces of beef for two people?

One egg left…add to grocery list… hmm… Why do I have three open boxes of boil-in-bag rice?

Oh inspiration!!!

Fried Rice Ingredients:
1 bag of boil-in-bag rice, cooked
some thinly sliced baby carrots
two handfuls of frozen peas
1/8 sweet onion, diced
1 egg
pepper
a little oil (I used olive)
minced onion
dark soy sauce
garlic powder

Beef & Broccoli
leftover outback steak house, sliced thin
frozen carrot rounds
1/5 onion sliced
ginger
garlic powder
soy sauce
honey
minced onion
some oil
water
leftover broccoli
salt
pepper

So, I boiled up the rice while I did my slicing and dicing.

BEEF & BROCCOLI
I also heated up the pan for the beef, added a little olive oil, then tossed in the onions and carrots, followed by salt and pepper.

After a few stirs to get things hot,  I added some of my delicious dark soy sauce and some honey.

(this is where you have to focus on two pots/pans) at once lol

RICE:
I also put oil in the pot I’d used for rice, added the rice, peas, and onions, plus pepper, garlic powder, and soy sauce.

BEEF & BROCCOLI:
When the carrots were defrosted and the onions cooked mostly through, I added the beef, the broccoli,  ground ginger, garlic powder, minced onion, and some more soy sauce. I also ended up adding a handful of water lol.

RICE:
Once the peas and onions were mostly cooked, I added in an egg and fried it up, mixing with the veggies.

Then, I added the rice back in, plus some more soy sauce!! ^,^.

BOTH:
Dished it up! Fried rice and beef & broccoli in a bowl. Tasty! Wish I’d had more lol.

Leave a Reply

