Chicken with Sauteed Vegetables

January 10, 2011 at 10:17 pm (cooking) ()

Mom’s been craving those boxed scalloped potatoes. Works well for me, they’re pretty tasty once in a while, and I don’t know how to make them from scratch (yet) lol.

Good side dish? Pork? Eh, not my favorite. Beef? Eh, too heavy. Chicken? nom! But what to pair it with,…?

Ingredients:
1 uber large chicken breast, or 2 breasts
1 tablespoon or so of butter
2 large white mushrooms, halved and sliced (or 4 medium ones)
1/4 medium onion, sliced and cut (ribbons)
1 large garlic clove, minced
garlic salt
garlic powder
parsely
Mrs. Dash garlic & herb
a splash of orange juice or sunny d
salt
pepper
extra virgin olive oil

I heated up the pan, added olive oil, then, when it was hot, I added the chicken. While it sizzled happily, I turned the heat to medium, sprinkled the chicken with garlic salt, garlic powder, and Mrs. Dash.

When it was halfway done, we gave it a flip (I added more olive oil). When it was almost done… about 50 degrees Celcius, I added a little more oil (I’m trying to cut back. not working lol), then dumped in the veggies!

I sprinkled the veggies with a nice pinch of kosher salt, a few grinds (to taste) of pepper, garlic powder, parsely, and Mrs. Dash. When it was all nice and almost done, I added the butter. Oooh, SO tasty…

I cut the chicken into portions, scooped over the veggies, and added the side of scalloped potatoes. :)

VERY tasty. I LOVE veggies like this – the hot oil makes the garlic all sweet, the savory of the mushrooms with the onions and the butter… mmm ❤

Made about three to four servings of veggies. The massive chicken breast I used feeds three. :)

Mom agrees it was totally delicious.

Leave a Reply

