Chicken Soup

November 29, 2010 at 8:41 pm (cooking) (, , , , , )

It tastes better than it looks, trust me.

So, long story short, I’m sick. It sucks being sick. And of course, me being me, I have to make soup. None of that icky canned stuff.

Chicken Soup Ingredients:
2 chicken breasts, cubed into bite-sized pieces
2 stalks of celery, cut to piece you like (I like thin and small.)
1/2 small onion, chopped
1/2cup baby carrots, sliced
most of a box of low-sodium chicken stock
1 grind black pepper
2 large pinches kosher salt
2 large mugs of water
olive oil

sage
thyme
parsely
garlic powder
ground ginger

I turned the crockpot up to high, added about an inch of chicken stock, and proceeded to cube the chicken, slice and dice my veggies, then put some olive oil in a pan. I started the chicken, then added the veggies a few moments later, followed by both pinches of salt and the pepper.

When it was almost cooked, I sprinkled ground ginger across the pan twice, as well as the thyme and sage and parsely. The garlic powder got three rounds.

When it was fully cooked, I transferred it to the crockpot, along with two mugs of water and more chicken stock. (About 3/4 the container total was used.)

Keep in mind, I couldn’t taste or smell anything, I’m sorry.

This was served in bowls, with leftover Boudin sourdough rolls from Thanksgiving. I enjoyed it, nice and warm and felt great on my throat. 😀

My mom assures me that it was really delicious.

Leave a Reply

