Chicken Parm

November 17, 2010 at 12:54 am (cooking) (, , , , , , )

Tonight was a great night for dinner!!

I made chicken parm with spaghetti & marinara sauce, and broccoli. :)

Broccoli was merely cooked, then tossed with margarine and garlic salt, very quick and easy, as I used the steam-in-bag microwave variety. :)

Chicken Ingredients:
chicken breasts – i kept them about the same thickness, these were pretty thin
italian bread crumbs
provolone cheese

I started up a pan with some oil and set the oven to 350. After tossing the chicken breasts in the bread crumbs, I cooked them in oil until they were done. Then, due to waiting on my sister arrive, they sat for about 10 minutes on paper towels (I blotted off extra oil gently), then I covered them with provolone cheese before baking them for another 10 minutes (to melt the cheese and warm through again). They were juicy and delicious!!!

Marinara Sauce Ingredients:
olive oil
a splash of cranberry-pomegranate juice
1 can tomato sauce
1 can petite diced tomatoes
8 medium white mushrooms, chopped
a small handful of baby carrots, minced
1/4 large onion, choppped
3 cloves of garlic, minced
garlic powder
kosher salt
black pepper
garlic & herb mrs. dash
sage
oregano
parsley

After preparing all of my veggies, I put some oil in the bottom of a pot (needed my skillet for the chicken!). When it was warm, I tossed in all of my veggies, along with two healthy pinches of salt, and a few grinds of black pepper. (3 or 4, wasn’t really counting, sorry, it’s how I cook!)

When the onions just started to become translucent, I added a splash of the cranberry-pomegranate juice. It’s my substitute for wine lol. It has the nice sweetness and a good crisp bite to it as well.

Once that cooked down, I added the cans of tomato-y goodness, and added spices to taste.(Usually ends up being three doses of G&H mrs. dash and oregano, one of parsley, two of sage and garlic powder… by “dose” I mean “sprinkled happily on top of the bubbling red stuff”).

Then I let it simmer while I cooked the chicken, broccoli, and spaghetti. :)

It was so delicious, and my sister has leftovers for two days! Yaaaaaay!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

