Quick’n’Easy Salisbury Steak

November 8, 2010 at 8:45 pm (cooking) (, , , , , )

I like easy-to-make meals, especially on a Monday.  I mean, it’s Monday… who wants to spend all day working on what broke all weekend, then come home and have to make an entire meal?

And yet, I’m not much of a fan of “premade’n’nuke” meals you can buy, and I am really trying to avoid fast food.

So! Last week, I made burgers for my mom and I; I made four patties, and put two in the fridge. Last night, we went out of Chinese and got an order of the string beans (SO delicious, we LOVE leftovers). And someone out there makes handy gravy mixes and just-add-water mashed potatoes.

Hamburger Patty Ingredients:
1lb ground beef (the leaner the better!), made into 1/4lb patties
worchestershire sauce (a few splashes on each patty)
a pinch of kosher salt sprinkled across all the patties
a grind of pepper over each patty
a sprinkle of garlic powder over each patty

All you have to do is cook them until they are done. 🙂 My mom’s burger I did medium, mine I prefer well done, and I did the extra patties well done as well, since I was saving them for later.

The chinese leftover green beans seem to be cooked quickly over high heat with oil, salt, onion, and garlic. The garlic has given it a bit of sweetness.  They’re delicious! If I hadn’t had leftovers to nuke, I would have just nuked some frozen green beans, then tossed them into the pan I used to make mushrooms and onions in with garlic salt and olive oil. 🙂

Ah, yes… to top the hamburger patties, I chopped up some sweet onion and some mushrooms, and sauteed them with a tiny bit of olive oil, a pinch of salt, some garlic powder, and black pepper, to compliment the meat.

I mixed up a quick packet of brown gravy, and made a package of golden russet buttered mashed potatoes (from Knorr and Idahoan respectively ), nuked each plate (patty and green beans) for 1:45 each, added taters and gravy and BAM!
Instant delicious dinner with veggies, starch, and protein. How delicious is that?

Total time this took? Less than 20 minutes… and most of that was boiling water!!!

Leave a Reply

