Orange-Ginger Chicken with Fried Rice

August 26, 2010 at 7:53 pm (cooking) (, , , , )

For a long time, I’ve been eyeing that bottled Iron Chef orange sauce thing on the shelf at the super market. I put it in the shopping cart when I went grocery shopping with Mom on Monday. So happy to play!!!!

This is the sauce, if you’re interested. I will have to learn to make something similar! http://www.ironchefproducts.com/

Orange-Ginger Chicken
3 chicken breasts, cubed or in strips, your choice. I used cubed.
1/4 onion, diced
3 large mushrooms, washed, halved, and sliced.
little bit of oil (just to start the noms)
kosher salt, to taste
fresh ground black pepper, to taste
2-3 shakes of garlic powder, to taste, really
about 1/3 the bottle of Iron Chef Orange Sauce Glaze with Ginger

Fried Rice
1 bag of.. well.. boil-in-bag rice, cooked
1/4 onion, diced
7 baby carrots, split then chopped
1 egg
some peas (I used frozen, in an amount comparable to the amount of carrots used)
little bit of salt, to taste
little bit of oil
7-11 grinds of pepper (or to taste, depending on how much pepper you can take)
soy sauce – I never measured, sorry. Enough to color the rice and flavor the veggies!

First, I started the rice. Electric stove, takes a bit to heat up that water lol.

Well. I had half of an onion left, so first, I diced it up. Then I put half into a bowl for the rice, and half into the pan (which was not on) for the chicken. Then I sliced up the yummy yummy mushrooms, and added those to the pan. After the mushrooms, I prepped the carrots, which I put into the bowl. I then added the peas to the bowl, for the sake of later convenience.

Then I popped on the pan for the chicken; added 4 cracks of pepper, added a healthy sprinkle of kosher salt, and a few shakes of garlic powder. Once the chicken was fully cooked, which happily coincided with the rice being done, I lowered the heat and added the orange sauce.

I stirred it together, and focused on the rock. I took out the bag of rice, dumped out the water, and returned the pan to the heat. I dumped in the bowl of veggies, with a little bit of olive oil, some pepper, a sprinkling of salt, and some soy sauce. (not alot)

Once the onions were cooked thoroughly, I cleared a hole in the middle of the veggies, and cracked the egg. I scrambled it, then killed the heat, added the rice, a little more pepper, and more soy sauce.

Serve and enjoy, it was delicious!!

(shown packed in a bento for leftovers!)

Leave a Reply

