Emergency Sauce

July 11, 2010 at 9:54 pm (cooking) ()

This is by no means healthy, not really. Just letting you know. Sometimes, decadence is good. 😉

Alrighty. Tonight was a problem night for spaghetti!

The meat was bad. I’d moved it from the freezer to the fridge, intent for use on Friday night. Tonight,  is Sunday.

I thought it would be alright, but, as I opened the package, the scent that prevailed upon my nostrils, was, shall we say,  unpleasant. Said meat got ziploc’d and tossed in the trash.

Which is where the other problems come in. All other proteins, frozen. No problem, I thought. We’ll make spaghetti with marina sauce.

I opened the cupboard…and no tomato sauce. Crud. Tomato paste? It’s frozen.

Best of all, I had already started the water for pasta, and the mushrooms, carrots, garlic, and olive oil –  they were primed and ready for meat in my large skillet-thing that I use for spaghetti sauces.

So now…. I had to get creative.

In the fridge, the first thing I did was grab the butter. Maybe a creamy sauce? I knew I had parmesan cheese.

Lo! Next to the butter was that pint of heavy whipping cream…was it still good? My heart leapt – it was! 3 days left!

Now then, real instructions now that panic was over. Kind of. Panic mode kind of means I don’t REALLY pay attention.

~*~*~*~

Ingredients:
Extra Virgin Olive Oil
2 large mushrooms, chopped (feel free to use more!)
2 baby carrots, minced
1 large clove of garlic, minced
Kosher Salt (to taste)

Fresh ground black pepper (to taste)
3/4 stick of butter
1 heavy shake of Garlic & Herb Mrs. Dash
3-4 shakes then to taste of both Garlic Salt and Garlic Powder
7 shakes of Minced Onion
1/4 cup of peas (feel free to use more!)

1-2 tablespoons of tomato paste

First, chop up your mushrooms – feel free to use more mushrooms. I would rather have had more mushrooms, personally. Mince the garlic and carrots as the pan (or pot) heats. When it’s hot, add some olive oil. Just enough to grease it up.

The pan should sizzle as you toss in the veggies. I added  a teaspoon of kosher salt, and 4 cracks of ground pepper.

Add in about 3/4 of a stick of butter. As it melts,  break down some parmesan cheese – I used about an inch length from the middle of a wedge – just cube it up and toss it in.

Carefully, start to add in the cream – keep stirring. Yes, stir some more.  Keep stirring until it’s all in. I used about 1/2 the container at this point.

Keep cooking this sauce as the water boils – I added 7 more grinds of pepper, the Mrs. Dash, garlic powder, and garlic salt at this point, too.

As I was tasting, I wound up adding more cream. It still tasted a little too creamy, so I thought about what I like in a creamy pasta – chicken (frozen rock solid, can’t use it…), mushrooms (all I have is in there already), broccoli (eh, had it with lunch…), and peas. Peas! Peas are in the freezer! I tossed some in about 1/2 a small coffee cup, filled it with water to the top of the peas, and nuked it for 45 seconds. Would have loved some more peas, but this worked fairly well.

Removed the water, then added the peas to the sauce.

As I was stirring, I was thinking about this place in Saint Louis, Roberto’s. At lunchtime, they have “Pasta Alla Romano” – fettucine alfredo with marina sauce. It’s REALLY tasty.

I hunked off about 1-2 tablespoons of the frozen tomato paste, chopped it to help it melt…and tossed it into the sauce.  I stirred until it was all melted.

To be honest, it didn’t *look* appetizing.  Tasted good, tho. When tasting, taste the sauce alone, and then again with a pea in it. You will notice that the pea cuts the cream. Quite nice!

We served this over shell pasta – I spooned it over and let us mix it up on our own. There is enough sauce here for 4 servings!

~*~*~*~

Recommendations:
Grill up some chicken. Slice and put on top. About half a breast per person would be lovely.
More peas and mushrooms!

~*~*~*~

Overall: Good. 🙂 Doesn’t need anything, (cept more veggies and mushrooms, IMHO), and would definitely do it again! On purpose, this time.

Leave a Reply

