Mandarin Soy Chicken with Fried Rice

July 3, 2010 at 9:15 pm (cooking) (, , , , , , )

We had chicken for lunch, (El Pollo Loco, yum lol) but I needed to use the 2 large chicken breasts that were in the fridge tonight.

Therefore, I steered away from Mexican flavors, and since baked ziti was recent, I also wanted to avoid Italian flavors.

Ponderingly, I opened the cupboards. What did I spy behind the cereal, but a small lonely can of mandarin oranges, too afraid of the big honkin’ pile of tuna cans to say “I’m here! Come eat me!”
Maybe not really, but hey. I grabbed the soy sauce, the can of oranges, and happily reached for some more spices as I cranked the oven to 350…

Mandarin Soy Chicken Ingredients:
2 Large Chicken Breasts (or however many you need)
1 small can of mandarin oranges, strained (1 per 2 breasts)
Soy Sauce (I prefer dark soy if I can get it, if not I like Kikkoman)
Ground Ginger
Ground Pepper
Garlic Powder

As the oven heated to 350, I lifted the chicken into a casserole dish, stabbing it repeatedly (in straight lines) with a small knife. Then I drizzled them with soy sauce – the knife holes looked good and dark and there was extra soy sauce in the dish, so I flipped them over twice. (Knife cuts up!) Then I emptied the oranges ontop of the chicken and around them.

This was followed by garlic powder, a light dusting, and ground ginger, also a light dusting. Hitting it with ground pepper, about 4 grinds high above the dish for good distribution, I covered the dish with tinfoil.

Just then the oven merrily informed me that it was 350, so I stuck the dish in the oven.

**Please note, this affected my cooking time. I did not properly preheat my oven. Cook time was 40 minutes instead of 30.**

Of course, then I started the water for…

Fried Rice Ingredients:
1 bag of boil-in-bag rice (the kind I used had a cook time of 8-10min)
some peas (about 1/4c)
some diced baby carrots (about 1/4c)
a few shakes of minced onion (the dried spice. please feel free to substitute fresh sauteed onion when you cook the egg)
pepper
soy sauce

I set the timer for 30 minutes – should be plenty of time for the water to boil, and time for the chicken to cook. I salted the water lightly, covered the pot, and enjoyed some obnoxious Facebook games.

After 30 minutes, I got up and put the rice in the pot. I also microwaved the peas and carrots in a small bowl of water for 1:45 on high. This was to slightly soften the carrots, and, well, thaw the peas lol.

Once the rice was cooked, I pulled the bag out, strained it, emptied the water from the pot, and returned it to the heat.

In went the egg, along with the minced onion… 1-2 tablespoon’s worth, I suppose. Like I measure…? To lubricate the pan, I used a tiny bit of olive oil. You can choose to use water. Either works. I like the oil. It’s heart healthy! ā¤

I scrambled the egg, added the peas and carrots, and cracked about 4-7 grinds of black pepper. (to taste! I started with four, ended with 7)

I added the rice, along with just enough soy sauce to make it turn tan, and cut the heat. Stirring to combine, I moved the pan off the burner as well.

**When the rice was done cooking, the oven timer for 10 minutes went off – I pulled the chicken from the oven at that point, letting it rest while I did the egg and veggie thing!!! Don’t leave it in there to dry out!!!**

Since the chicken was done resting, I removed the breasts to a cutting board, slicing it, almost like medallions. I lay them on the plate, and covered them with a few oranges (eat the chicken with the orange slices. SO tasty!!). I didn’t use the soy/chicken juice mixture on the bottom of the dish, though you can. I just didn’t care for a soggy meal, the chicken was nice and juicy!!

I spooned on some rice, and served!
This makes 3-4 servings. šŸ™‚

**TO IMPROVE**
~Plan ahead lol. Marinate the chicken with the soy and spices overnight, and cook it with the oranges for a slightly richer flavor.
~Using minced onion with the rice (cooking it with the egg) would have had better flavor.
~Dark Soy Sauce > Kikkoman. Anyday.
~Some toasted sesame seeds would have been a lovely addition!

2 Comments

  1. Cloney said,

    OMG, your photos look great! I’m drooling, seriously. I wish it wasn’t so darn hot here right now. We just got home yesterday and I’m NOT wanting to use the oven at all! It just heats up the house even more (no A/C)!

Leave a Reply

