Yum Yum, Apple Pie!

June 29, 2010 at 3:14 pm (cooking) (, , , )

Ain't it purty?

Alrighty, so I literally cannot remember the last time I made a fruit pie.

My sister requested an apple pie for dessert tonight, and I have a loathing of premade pies.

I will, eventually, learn to make this from scratch.

For now!

Ingredients:
1 package of pie crust, defrosted (2 crusts per package)
2 cans of apple pie filling
1 nine inch pie tin

Preheat oven to 425 and let it heat up 15-20 minutes past the “I’m hot!” beep.

Once the oven is fully preheated, put pie crust number one carefully into the tin, molding it into shape. Open both cans of filling and spread contents evenly.

Wash your hands.

I lay out the top crust on the (clean) counter, and used my cutting board and a butter knife to cut it into I think 9 strips. I then latticed the strips to make it pretty.

Trim/fold over/crimp crust edges.

Brush crust with egg wash.

Bake 15 minutes.

Remove, cover crust edges with tin foil to prevent burning.

Bake 30 minutes.

Remove from oven; turn OFF oven lol.

Brush lightly with butter, sprinkle lightly with sugar crystals. (Missing from photo – I used the gold-toned sugar crystals. So pretty!)

It smells good. Here’s to hoping I did well!

Leave a Reply

