Slow-Cookin’ Pork Roast and…. tacos?

June 23, 2010 at 4:39 pm (cooking)

Tonight is Pork Roast night! Mom’s at work, possibly late, and I have raid tonight (hopefully) in WoW.

Ingredients:
1 Pork Roast (tenderloin)
Original Mrs. Dash
Garlic Salt
Ground Cumin
Chicken Stock

So earlier (eh about noon), I pulled out the crock pot, made sure it was dust-free (and clean!).

I split my pork roast… like a tenderloin thing… in half the long way to make it fit, put it in the crock pot, then poured in chicken stock until it was nearly covered. I left the surface of the top uncovered for spices!!

I covered it with garlic salt, lemon pepper, original Mrs. Dash, and ground Cumin. It smells divine.

Then I closed it and left it on Low Heat until 3ish – turning it over at 1:30 and 3 –  it was cooked all the way through (I want a probe thermometer or an instant read ~_~. ). Now it is on Keep Warm with a package of baby carrots.

I figure when dinner rolls around I will pair it with some mashed potatoes (the kind that come in the just-add-water-and-fluff-with-fork Idahoan package), the carrots, and then turning the leftover stock/juices into a gravy.
Of course, this is alot of  pork for just one meal for two people, isn’t it?

Well, this is why leftovers can rock…TACOS!

Pork Roast Tacos Ingredients:
Leftover Pork Roast, cubed
Some lime juice (fresh-squeezed ftw)
Fresh ground pepper (to taste)
1/4 shallot, diced
garlic (1-2 cloves, minced)
maybe a little more cumin, to taste
a little olive oil for the pan

Salsa! Ingredients:
the other 1/2 shallot, diced small
1 clove garlic, minced
some lime juice (fresh-squeezed!)
1/2 tomato, diced small
a little salt

Firstly, dice up your shallots, mince your garlic – I would say dice up for both tacos and salsa, then just set aside the salsa stuff. Then, as you are cubing the pork roast, start caramelizing the onions/garlic in a pan with a little olive oil.

I cube meat by cutting it into strips, making it very easy to cube from there.

Add your meat to the nice warm pan… since it’s already cooked, all you are really doing is reheating it.

While it cooks, dice up some tomato (on the clean side of the cutting board). Add it to the shallots and garlic you set aside. Sprinkle with a little salt and add a squeeze of lime juice.  You can also get some fresh cilantro for this – not a big huge fan of cilantro, so we are skipping it. If you DO use it.. it’s very strong. So use sparingly.

Anyways.. you will also want to cut lettuce into chunks or strips while you have the cutting board out.

If it’s your thing, when you start the onions and garlic, start heating up some refried beans! 🙂

So  here’s what my usual spread for tacos is: little bowls with the toppings – shredded cheese, salsa, lettuce, refried beans, and sour cream. Don’t forget your yummy tortillas, and a plate!!

Sorry for typing all higgledy-piggledy…

OKAY! 😀

Adding a picture of my mom’s taco, since she added salsa!

1 Comment

  1. Caiti said,

    This pork recipe sounds easy and excellent. I think I’ll give it a try but probably without the cumin…though I MIGHT use something similar. At the very latest it’d make an excellent Monday dinner since we’re going to be at Com Fest a lot this weekend.

    Additionally, I LOVE tacos. It’s always great when you can take one meal’s leftovers and turn it into something totally different. Will let you know how it all works out for me when I try it.

Leave a Reply

