Leftover sauce? More like AWESOMESAUCE!

June 20, 2010 at 9:33 pm (cooking)

So, a few nights ago I made that shallot spaghetti sauce. ( https://dragoon811.wordpress.com/2010/06/17/shallot-spaghetti-sauce/ ) Which left me with alot of leftover sauce, since there was only two of us here for dinner.

So, first I made Gouda Chicken Parmesan. ( https://dragoon811.wordpress.com/2010/06/18/leftovers-are-an-amazing-thing/ ) Tasty. “Omnomnom”, even. But this still left me with  half the brick of gouda, a nubbin of parmesan cheese (about an inch), and half a Cool Whip container of spaghetti sauce. Gasp!

Originally, I was just going to cook some noodles and throw the sauce over them. Then I saw the container of tubular noodles. AN IDEA WAS BORN!!!

Once the water was boiling, I threw in the noodles (about 3/4 a package), and grated that last precious bit of parmesan cheese, along with about1.5 inches of the block of gouda. (the other .5 inch I cubed, more on that in a bit). I also started to slowly nuke the sauce.

That’s the trick with nuking sauces – go slowly. By slowly, I mean 30 to 45-second intervals. Stir. Continue. Too fast and it tastes funny.

Once the noodles were al dente, I turned the broiler on high, grabbed 4 ramekins and a cookie sheet. I like my noodles not al dente, but a little softer, so once they were done, I strained them and put them back into the pot.

To the pot I added that cubed gouda and the sauce, and stirred til it was melted. You can add more cheese here if you would like, I was just trying for healthy-ish. ^_^.

Anyways…I spooned out my tasty mixture into the 4 ramekins, put them on a cookie sheet, and divided the shredded cheese amongst the them. (Since there wasnt quite enough, I tapped a bit of the powdered parmesan cheese on them too for flavor balance.)

Stuck them under the broiler until the cheesy goodness was melted, put the ramekins on plates (hey, they were hot!!), and served.

Delicious!

For posterity…

Ingredients:
1/2 cool whip container of leftover sauce
3/4 package of tubular pasta. Not mostaccoli, too wide.
Parmesan cheese. It’s good stuff, man.
Gouda cheese. Also tasty.

Leave a Reply

