Christmas Ham…?

December 26, 2009 at 12:52 am (cooking) ()

Merry Christmas to you all!

This was kind of a cooking fail for me, time and heat wise. I cooked it on a rack in a roasting pan, and I think that that may work better on turkeys than on hams. Luckily, I pulled it early. I followed the heat and time instructions on the packaging, but… seems a bit much.

In good news, my pulling early resulted in a ham that rested for half an hour and was perfectly juicy and well-cooked through!!! Squee!!!!! In sad news, I think too much heat from the rack failed with my flavoring.

But yanno what? The parts my flavoring stuck to were DARN tasty!

I went with a subtle flavor because Mom doesn’t like strong flavored hams, Allie LOVES ham, and I… well, I don’t really CARE for ham all that much. Don’t know why. I wish that more and stuck to the ham, I like a strong-flavored ham, myself.
Anyways… started with a Cook’s bone-in ham shank, water added. Unwrapped that sucker, and applied the following before cooking what the package said:

Katie’s Scrumptious Ham Flavoring Stuff of Sticky Doom

Ingredients:
Honey
Mustard
Ground Ginger
Ground Cloves
Brown Sugar

Mix about 1 part mustard with 3 parts honey, and flavor with a few taps (3 or so for an 8lb ham) each of ginger and cloves. Mix well. I just used a spoon. Apply to ham with a brush. No, not a hair brush. A brush for food.

Once applied, get yourself a bowl of brown sugar, and pat firmly onto the ham. Cook.

That was delicious, and I wish more of it had stuck. Oh well, time to experiment in the future. 🙂

Garlic Dill New Potatoes

Ingredients:
baby red potatoes, about 2-4 per person I think, depending on the size of your feast
olive oil
garlic and herb mrs dash
dillweed

Parboil the potatoes. No need to peel, but PLEASE wash them first. 🙂

Cut the potatoes into cubes. Toss with olive oil and spices.

Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

We also had green bean casserole (yum!), but the instructions for that are on the can of French’s Fried Onions.

Leave a Reply

